A very rare specialised publication relating to the town of Nottingham and its adjacent villages, including its history, geography and facilities in 1834 including schools, places of worship, carriers and postal services, etc., together with an alphabetical listing of people with trades, plus gentry, etc., and a complete classified trades directory.
Also included is a fascinating street map of the town as it was in 1834. At this date, the town ends on Derby Road just short of what is now Canning Circus, where there are two windmills, and this map also shows the positions of the twelve windmills on what is now The Forest. The Nottingham canal has been built, but there are no houses south of Canal Street, just open meadows. To the East, a new development of houses is just starting off Carlton Road.
High quality scanned images of the whole of the original book. A wealth of information and a snapshot in time. This CD can be viewed by any computer using Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 4 or later recommended). The data on this CD is completely self-contained, and requires no installation.
This CD book has been formatted to be searchable using Adobe Acrobat Reader.
System Requirements: Windows 95, 98, 2000, NT or better, CD-ROM drive, Adobe Acrobat. Also suitable for Macintosh or Unix operating systems.
Summary by Archive CD Books Ltd.